Edition Maldives - EN


Qatar announces visa-free entry for 80 countries including the Maldives

10 August 2017 - 17:22


Foodaholic. Travel Buff. Smartphoneographer.

DOHA, Qatar - Qatar’s Ministry of Interior (MoI), Qatar Tourism Authority (QTA) and Qatar Airways has announced that visa-requirements has been waived off for 80 countries, effective from the 9th of August.

This allows citizens of Maldives and 79 other countries, to enter Qatar visa-free, and instead be issued a multi-entry waiver that is free of charge, at the port of entry. The only requirements for the citizens of these 80 countries to be eligible to enter Qatar without paying or applying for Visa, is to present a valid passport with minimum six months validity along with a confirmed ticket to the country. 

Qatar allows two different multiple-entry waivers, depending on the nationality. Free-visa of 180 days from the date of issue is eligible for 33 countries, allowing visitors to spend a total of 90 days in Qatar. Whilst the rest of 47 countries (including Maldives) get a free-visa of 30 days from the date of issue, allowing the visitor to spend up to 30 days in Qatar, with a possibility to apply for an extension of additional 30 days.

In a statement released by Qatar airways, the Chief Executive of Qatar Airways Group, His Excellency Mr. Akbar Al Baker said: "Today’s announcement places the State of Qatar as the most open country in the region. This is a momentous occasion for Qatar, making the number of nationalities eligible to enter our country without a visa the highest in region, which is something that we are very proud of.

“Qatar Airways is the patriotic flag carrier for the State of Qatar and as such we are extremely honoured to bring millions of people each year to our beautiful, welcoming and historic country. This important initiative from the Ministry of Interior and Qatar Tourism Authority will provide an opportunity to welcome even more visitors, from even more countries, to experience the many exciting attractions that await them.”

“With 80 countries eligible for a visa waiver, Qatar is now the most open country in the region and we are delighted to invite visitors to discover our renowned hospitality, cultural heritage and natural treasures.” he further added.

The countries' along with the Maldives that are eligible for Qatar's free-visa are listed below:

Visa waiver valid for 180 days

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary,  Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg ,Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey.

Visa waiver valid for 30 days with possible extension of additional 30 days

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Belarus, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Chine, Colombia, Ecuador, Panama, Costa Rica, Georgia, Guyana, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Macedonia, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, New Zealand, Paraguay, Peru, Russia, San Marino, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Suriname, Cuba, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela.


By publishing a comment you agree to the Comment Policy of TrendingRED.